When You Come Back

When you come back,
Hug me warmly and tenderly
And scorch into my mind the memory
Of the first time you said those two words
*Te amo.

Make up for those lonely nights at the dinner table
Your sweet, nostalgic scent of maple
And all the times I thought I heard your voice,
Among the noise,
Of the city traffic cars and banging apartment doors.

When you come back,
Promise me that you’ll never leave
I don’t care if it just for a day,
Just stay,
And please,
don’t ever go away.

 

 

*Te amo: I love you

Leave a Reply

